FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Market for bad hard drives

Tony The Tiger
I see a lot of things for sale on eBay in non-working condition. Is there a market for 120GB and 160GB hard drives that are not working. They are just sitting here and I should either dump them on eBay or dump them in the trash. Which should I do?
SonLight
In my opinion, broken hard drives should have little value beyond recycling the materials. The manufacturers appear to prefer to build new ones from scratch rather than reuse components, and no one else would likely have the clean room technology together with an interest and manufacturing capability to resurface a bad drive.

I am far from an expert in this area however. It is conceivable that some of the controller electronics or whatever could be re-used, and manufacturers might make new sealed drives without electronics available to resellers, in which case rebuilt or locally-branded drives might be marketable.
Mr_Howl
Make sure to clean your hard drives before selling them or throwing them away (that is, if you can). Deleting data is not enough; you have to "scrub" the disk, or destroy it.

If there is a market for broken hard drives, it could be for parts (motor) or scrap, which means you probably can't get much. Or, it could be they hope to find sellers who did not clean the drive and also happened to leave credit card information or bank credentials in their files...
Tony The Tiger
Mr_Howl wrote:
Make sure to clean your hard drives before selling them or throwing them away (that is, if you can). Deleting data is not enough; you have to "scrub" the disk, or destroy it.

If there is a market for broken hard drives, it could be for parts (motor) or scrap, which means you probably can't get much. Or, it could be they hope to find sellers who did not clean the drive and also happened to leave credit card information or bank credentials in their files...