FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Is it ethical to hack a client that didn't pay?

D'Artagnan
As a software developer i've worked before with people who would have ways to "hack" into a system to disable the system in case the client didn't pay for the work. some were flaws in the system, and some would be Skeleton Keys for the systems, the principle is the same.

to which extend is a professional allowed to have control over a product?
or in more simple terms Is it ethical to hack a client that didn't pay?

i'll give my opinion below Smile
Afaceinthematrix
I think that if you are paying good money for something then you expect it to be secure. If I paid you and then found out that there was this flaw or way to be hacked in (because if you can do it, so can someone else) I'd be pissed. However, I would not be angry at someone who was upfront with me. "Hey, I programmed in a slight error that will allow me to hack in and disable your system if you renege on my pay but as soon as you pay I'll go and take out that error" would be a non-issue with me.

Similarly, I've heard of a car company that adds in a GPS tracking device into all their new cars. That way if someone doesn't make the car payment then they have an easy time repossessing it. I generally don't have an issue with this if it's in the contract but since I do respect privacy rights, they should be required to remove the GPS device for free by request once the car is paid off because then they do not have a right to track it anymore.
TheLimey
I think the fact you have to ask this question means you already know the answer
Afaceinthematrix
TheLimey wrote:
I think the fact you have to ask this question means you already know the answer