FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

My new toy: arguably the best windows tablet on the market.

ocalhoun
I wanted a super-portable computer for school, and as an engineering student, I wanted one that could run a standard OS, to be able to use any fancy calculator or simulator programs.

After a lot of looking, I think I found what I was looking for:
http://www.motioncomputing.com/products/tablet_pc_CL900.asp
The cl900, from a company I had never heard of before, motion computing...
(Apparently, motion computing has been making ruggedized windows tablets aimed at the business market ever since the idea of a tablet became practical, with designs that predate almost everything else out there... And I'd say all that practice paid off!)

Showing off a nifty feature; the ability to enter complicated math via writing it in with the pen:

Connected to the docking station, which gives it extra USB ports, power, and an ethernet port...
which is in turn connected to my KVM switch, and displayed on the TV there, just like most of my other computers. (The cable coming off the side is the HDMI out, being used to connect the display to the KVM; sadly, the dock does not have video out; it has to be connected directly.)

The pen hides away inside a little compartment in the side, which is pretty cool and really convenient.

And really, I am confident in saying it's the best windows tablet on the market today.

It has 8 hours of battery life -- even the intensive run-down tests done by reviewers result in 7.5 hour life... And that's easily double what you can expect from most windows tablets!
The long battery life is awesome because it means there's no reason to bother with power adapters and cords when taking it places. Just grab and go.

It has more wireless connectivity than I know what to do with; wifi (n), bluetooth, carrier-independent cell-phone data, satellite GPS...