FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Newbie PHP/MySQL question

Bikerman
Hi folks,
I have a problem which I hope someone can help me with. Apologies in advance for the 'newbi-ness' - I'm a systems manager, not a programmer and it is many moons since I last coded in anger (and that would be with Fortran V).

Outline:
The IP address and other user details are captured, on my (Joomla) site, into a MySQL table called vvisitorcounter. What I want to do is add geolocation information to this table. I have installed and tested a PHP/PEAR add-on to do the actual geolocation (called GeoIP) and it seems to work fine. The server is running PHP 5.3 and MySQL 14.2.

Problem:
I want to run a script to go through the table, retrieve the ip address (fieldname 'ip'), lookup the region, latitude and longitude using that IP address, and write these values back into the table.
I have created the necessary fields in the table. The routine to grab the required details seems to work fine - the basic syntax is:
$location = $geoip->lookupLocation(required_address);
and this returns:
$location->city
$location->region
$location->latitude
$location->longitude

I have sufficient knowledge to have been able to put this into php and test it - it works fine. The script I generated is:

<?php
require_once "GeoIP.php";
$geoip = Net_GeoIP::getInstance('GeoIPCity.dat', Net_GeoIP::SHARED_MEMORY);
$con = mysql_connect("localhost","xxxxx","xxxxxx");
if (!$con)
{
die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
}
mysql_select_db("joomla", $con);
$result = mysql_query("SELECT distinct ip, latitude FROM vvisitcounter");
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
{
$location = $geoip->lookupLocation($row['ip']);
echo "IP Address: " . $row['ip'] .
" Region: " . $location->region .
" Latitude: " . $location->latitude .
" Longitude: " . $location->longitude .
"<br/>";
}
mysql_close($con);
?>