FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Paint.net vs gimp?

PapaMinouche
What do you prefer as a free image manipulation software? Or any other suggestion?

I prefer the paint.net interface, but honestly I'm not a pro at this stuff...so what would be better?
Navigator
I don't know, both seem like an amateur version of those Adobe products, but hey, open source deserves all my credit.
portoskt
paint.net have all the functions i need from this kind of programs... photoshop is too complicated for me
Chellesei
Well, honestly, I haven't tried Paint.NET. I use Adobe Photoshop when I edit or create images but I use GIMP in some cases so I'm pretty familiar with it.

I've done some research about this before and most users prefer GIMP than Paint.NET. They say GIMP is more powerful and complex.

Paint.NET's window is better. From what I see from the images, it's easier to navigate here than in GIMP. I heard that it provides some features but not really advanced. They say it would do for those who needs a simple or non-professional photo editing.

In GIMP, there are more advanced effects and tools to edit or create an image (though it's a bit more complicated software). Photoshop brushes can also be used in GIMP. For me, it's the best alternative to Photoshop.

But sometimes, in the start up (when you open it) of GIMP, it sometimes freezes. Well, just sometimes. There are also a lot of times when it opens smoothly. That's what I have noticed on my computer. I don't know if it's because I'm running too much programs at once or what. But that doesn't matter anyways. xD It works well after a few seconds of hanging up.

If you try to learn how to manipulate a more complex/advanced program, better go with GIMP. It's worth the time. Smile But if you just need a pretty simple image editor, Paint.NET will do.
welshsteve