FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Windows 8 Logo

cybersa
Now only i saw the new Windows 8 logo.
I don't like it because it is very simple.
What you think about?
You can see it here:
http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/article/250273/new_windows_8_logo_is_pure_genius.html
90dota
what is this ? Shocked
cybersa
New Windows 8 Logo.
Recently published by Microsoft.
Aredon
It's also basically the old windows 1 logo:

Not really sure how I feel about them making it retro to be honest. Seems to me that the graphic designer just got really lazy. I could have made this myself, and I'm a programmer. Laughing
Ghost Rider103
Aredon wrote:
It's also basically the old windows 1 logo:

Not really sure how I feel about them making it retro to be honest. Seems to me that the graphic designer just got really lazy. I could have made this myself, and I'm a programmer. Laughing

I can assure you the graphic designer(s) made way more than one mock up of a logo.

Big companies spend thousands if not millions on a simple logo design. They don't spend a million on one logo, however they make an entire campaign out of finding one perfect logo. They will usually hire more than one designer and each designer will carry out way more than one design. In some cases, I've heard of 100+ designers being hired to knock out close to a thousand different mock-ups if not more.

Though I do agree the logo is very simple, but what big corporate company logo isn't simple? Simplicity is key to branding, something a lot of amateur designers/CEO's fail to understand.

Here's a very good example of both pricing of the logo and how almost all logos eventually become simplified, because wild/crazy/busy logos will always fail: http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505123_162-42740110/pepsis-new-1-million-logo-looks-like-old-diet-pepsi-logo/
Cal_123