FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Best Cat Breed?

Goddess
Usually folks talk about dog breeds but not about cat breeds. So now it is your chance to tell your opinion. What is your favorite cat breed an why?

I have had several domestic/barn cats in my life. you know the ones that live in the stable or similar place and their job is to catch mice. In Finland we call them "navettakissa" which refers to a cowshed.

Last year I got my first pedigree cat, a bengal. She is very active and loves to talk and play with water. She have even taught my older non-pedigree cat to love water. So bengal is my choice of cat breed.

How about you folks?
deanhills
I by accident met a Burmese cat that came from a cross pedigreed Siamese and Burmese. I'm not a cat expert at all but have had cats in my life time and this one had a completely different personality. What impressed me most was total absence of meowing. Or even bristling. However almost instantly purred when tickled under the chin. That is as far as vocal goes - very soft purring. I was completely unknown to the kitten, but it responded to me only positively. Do you know which pedigrees would be similar - i.e. where cats don't meow, or is this more of a personality thing? Her brother, who looks more Siamese than Burmese is apparently the same. Never meow. Both of them are non-vocal.
standready
My best cat came from the barn but looked like a seal point Siamese. Had the best personality. Friends of mine have Russian Blues. One has a great personality, the other is a wreck.
Goddess
If you don't want a "talking" cat, then burmese could be a good choice. As far as I know. A bengal loves to talk and needs a lot of company and activity. Maybe a norwegian forestcat would be a good choice too.

I'm not a pedigree cat expert. This bengal cat is my first of a kind. Have you tried to google not meowing cat breeds?
deanhills
Goddess wrote: