FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Are capitals and punctuation necessary in written English?

deanhills
I prefer the use of capitals and punctuation. It provides good form to that which has been written. I used to be an Editor a few years ago and I really like it when people take care with their writing by following the standard rules. But lately I've noticed that those participating in Forum discussions are moving away from capitalizing the first letters of their sentences, the "I" in the middle of a sentence and product names.

I'm trying to play Devil's Advocate with my preference and wondering whether those who prefer not to use the punctuation and capitals are actually on a good thing here. Whether it is "i" or "I" in the middle of a sentence, and the sentence starts with a lower case, what is the big deal really? Why are we capitalizing "I" anyway? Why capitalize "apple" when it is a product name?

I'm interested to know what the views of other Frihosters are in this regard and particularly Moderators of Frihost and Moderators of other Forums who are posting at Frihost. Am I behind the times here? What are your preferences? Smile

Thread moved to Languages and Translation by Ghost Rider103
Peterssidan
Capitals and punctuations are visual aids to see where a sentence starts and ends. Leaving them out is just lazy.
lucascoelho
They say the languages are alive, cause they change all the time.
As we are living on internet times, those changes seem to happen even faster and things are starting to get out of control.