FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

AMD Clock Speeds

AMD or Intel?
AMD
91%
 91%  [ 11 ]
Intel
8%
 8%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 12

Wd_removed
If you look at 2 processors, similar prices, lets say 100 each.

One an intel, one an AMD. If you look at the clock speeds for both the intel ends up about 1GHz higher..

Now I'm looking to buy a new PC. It will either be AMD athlon 64+ or Intel P4. What does AMD lack of clock speed actually mean?

And overall which processor do you guys find superior?

and what tasks is each one best at?
snowboardalliance
I'm no expert, but from what I've read, my AMD 64 3000+ at 1.8GHz, is similar to the speed of an Intel at 3.0GHz (the 3000+ part). Generally, this means you can get AMD for cheaper than Intel. Wait for someone else to post though, I could be wrong.
Wd_removed
Yeh... The thing that makes me wonder about this though, is how the top in seemingly every affordable CPU benchmark test, the P4 3.2GHz always wins.
Kd527
I think it's measured differently from the Intel. A 1.8 GHz AMD runs the same as about a 3.4 GHz Pentium.
RA
I agree. To compare Athlons to P4s, you can generally add 1Ghz to the Athlon speed, and get the P4 equivalent.
Wd_removed
Makes sense... I was adding about 600 MHz anyway because I know a 3200+ AMD is the equilvalent of a P4 3GHZ.
SoftStag
AMD and Intel both make excellent processors. There is little to choose between the 2. My personal preference in the AMD; generally they give better performance for your money. Either way, you will get a good PC Smile
golles
snowboardalliance wrote:
I'm no expert, but from what I've read, my AMD 64 3000+ at 1.8GHz, is similar to the speed of an Intel at 3.0GHz (the 3000+ part). Generally, this means you can get AMD for cheaper than Intel. Wait for someone else to post though, I could be wrong.