FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Apple Care

davidv
So for the past 2 weeks I've been saving a bit of money to buy myself a Macbook Pro (by this Friday, I should have enough to get one Very Happy). I'm wondering if I should spend an extra $300 AU for apple care. Despite 1.00 AUD = 1.01459 USD, the 13" Macbook I want to purchase in USD is $1,499.00 but $1,698 AUD which I think is absolutely ridiculous! I get a 10% student discount but regardless of the discount, it's still a very large amount of money (I'm a struggling undergrad Laughing).

So yeah, I just want your opinion on whether or not I should buy Apple Care. I'm usually quite careful with expensive toys but accidents happen.
badai
if you have to save money to buy computer, and have to be "calculative" to spend more, then you are definitely not a mac person.

what kind of computer have a blinking logo on top of the lid to purposely advertise to all other people they are using that brand? well, the one to show off. but since you not really have means to show off, you will be better off using computer that you can really use instead to show off to others what you own.
Ankhanu
Apple Care is a fairly good idea. Macs are fairly reliable, but when they go, they go big Razz Apple Care extends your warranty coverage, and can save you a lot of money... if something goes wrong. That said, I didn't by it for my old MacBook, nor my current MacBook Pro. I did need to use my warranty on my iPhone, and the customer service was head and shoulders beyond anything I've ever had to deal with before; top notch!

badai wrote:
what kind of computer have a blinking logo on top of the lid to purposely advertise to all other people they are using that brand? well, the one to show off. but since you not really have means to show off, you will be better off using computer that you can really use instead to show off to others what you own.