FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Help Me Choose A New Career Path

theblushingcrow
I'm a 31 year old computer programmer. I've been studying Mandarin Chinese for about three years. I want to start working towards a new career, one that makes use of my knowledge in Chinese. Note that I don't want to move to a Chinese speaking country at the moment, I'm looking for a job which uses my knowledge in Chinese, not one that happens to be in a Chinese country.

Some of the options I'm considering:
History of China
Philology
Translation
Chinese History of Art
Chinese Literature/Poetry
Entomology specializing in Chinese insects (which will include studying Chinese texts)
Tour guide for Chinese tourists

I would appreciate any feedback on this, especially since I have no idea what are my chances of landing a job in any of these areas. Also if anyone has any other suggestions for other areas of study I'd also appreciate it
Smile
mathiaus
Are you looking for an IT job that now involves your new language skills, or a move out from the IT industry altogether, where your linguistic skills will be your bread and butter skill set?
theblushingcrow
The latter - I want a job where speaking and/or reading Chinese is done on a daily basis. I don't think working in IT would make that possible, unless I work in IT in a Chinese speaking country, which at the moment I'm not inclined to do. If you are aware of IT jobs which allow me to incorporate Chinese, I'd love to hear about it Smile
deanhills