FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Working over Christmas is awesome.

Nameless
That's not sarcasm, I promise!

The fast food chain I work for is closed on Christmas Day itself, but I'll be showing up for work bright and early (in a manner of speaking, it's, uh, more of an evening shift) for the non-weekend public holiday and over New Years as well. It's the couple of precious days a year where I can pretend to be a skilled and highly in-demand worker while raking in the extra cash. ^_^'

Who else is with me?!
GuidanceReader
I used to love working over the Christmas break. I worked in fast food and as I was a uni student most of the time, the extra money for less work (as it was usually quiet over that time) was awesome! I was always the one volunteering to do both Christmas and New Year.
mathiaus
I work in IT and was considering working between Christmas and New Year. I wouldn't get paid more as we normally have take our holidays for those three days, but working then when the place is pretty much empty would be great. No distractions, I could just get on with stuff I needed to do. Then, I could take those days off when it would normally be busy instead or an extra 3 days from my normal holiday...
tidruG
Nameless wrote:

The fast food chain I work for is closed on Christmas Day itself, but I'll be showing up for work bright and early (in a manner of speaking, it's, uh, more of an evening shift) for the non-weekend public holiday and over New Years as well. It's the couple of precious days a year where I can pretend to be a skilled and highly in-demand worker while raking in the extra cash. ^_^'

Who else is with me?!
Christmas means didley-squat to me anyway. So I wouldn't mind working over Christmas. However, if we got a holiday, for any reason whatsoever, I'd have to be pretty handsomely compensated in order to go to work. Razz
chatrack