FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Experienced workers

davidv
So I recently got a job as a software developer at a small company in the city. I'm very excited because I know I'll learn heaps and I'll be able to gain lots of experience years before the end of my degree. So this is a really good opportunity for me.

Problem is, I've only just started programming (been learning for a year). Although I catch on fairly quickly, I can't help but feel a little intimidated. My employer has 30 years of experience in the field, the other developer has at least 15 years and I barely have a year. My employers know that I'm new to the field but decided to take me up anyway.

So what I'm asking is, is it normal to feel intimidated by their experience? I really hate asking questions but I know I'll have to and it's good way to learn but I'm scared that if I ask but don't understand it the first time around, they'll think less of me?

I start next week Monday and my first task is to find bugs and fix them. So right now I'm vigorously studying some of the modules that they use in hopes that I'll familiarize myself before I start.

OH! Also, a lot of development will be web based. Although I've developed many websites in the past, I've never had the time to learn the very technical side of the web and I'm wondering if this lack of deep understanding might affect things.
deanhills
Congratulations with the job. I have no doubt you'll ace it, as you're probably going to go for it a 150%. I always thought passion is more important than experience in this field, as you probably are going to bring new insights to the business. The owner has the experience to contribute.
davidv
deanhills wrote: