FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

best Linux for old computer?

welshsteve
A friend of my wife's has a very very old laptop. Windows just will not run on it, it takes 5 minutes to respond to a mouse click. I therefore asked her if she doesn't mind having a different OS on there. She only needs it for web browsing and email so I suggested this.

The laptop has 256MB RAM and an 800MHz CPU. At the moment I have put Xubuntu on there, the alternative download version, and it seems to be ok. It detects the wireless router etc.

Is this the best option as it is still a little slow, although nowhere near how slow it was.

Another option I thought of was DreamLinux, which runs great in LiveCD mode. I've now downloaded the latest version and am thinking of putting that on instead of Xubuntu. Dream Linux is a little more pleasing on the eye with the "Mac" like animated shortcut bar at the bottom.

I'm pretty new to linux, and my wife's friend is not computer literate in the slightest, so I want it to be the easiest experience it can possibly be for her.
Fire Boar
Xubuntu is okay, though I would probably suggest a more lightweight distro with the XFCE desktop. I don't think the difference will be worth it though.