FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Offering the full site to mobile users

welshsteve
Hi everyone. Not sure if this is in the correct sub forum.

I'm VERY new to mobile website development. Basically, here is my scenario.

I have built a very basic mobile version of a website I run.

I have browser detection on so it re-directs mobile users to this mobile version automatically.

What I want to know is how do I offer the full site back to mobile users? I have seen this on a number of sites. I plan on having the device detection on all pages of the main site, so if I simply provide a link back, they'll just get stuck in a loop.

The full site works fine on mobile devices until it comes to the use of overflow:auto on the main content div. That's when touch screen users lose the content as they are unable to see all the content.

So I don't really want them using the main site on a mobile device. But I thought it would be nice if I at least give them the option if they wish.

My mobile version isn't great, but all the content is easily read, so should be sufficient for people on the go.

Many thanks in advance.
sonam
Maybe the simplest way is sessions. Define one session (for example: $_SESSION['mobile']=0; on main page. If someone click link <a href=page2.php?mobile=1>Page 2 full preview</a> just use $_GET for rebuild $_SESSION['mobile'] and redirect on normal view. As long $_SESSION['mobile'] is 1 show normal view. If in some case someone use <a href=page3.php?mobile=0>Page 3 mobile preview</a> then again rebuild $_SESSION['mobile'] and show mobile version of page. Of course, by click on home page $_SESSION['mobile']=0; will always rebuild session on zero because you don't want to show full home page on mobile devices.

Sonam

P.S.
Sorry if this explanation is too confused. Confused

P.S. 2
Did you read posts about Responsive design? What do you mean is this better solution then redirect?