FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How do you teach?

Helios
Well, we have a "how do you study?" topic so I thought we should have a "how do you teach?" one as well. I'm not making it a sticky yet, because I want to see if this thread gains any popularity first.

Anyway, I've been assigned to train a new engineer at my department and since I'm not a teacher by profession, I'd like to have some tips from the pro's in here Smile
davidv
Helios wrote:
Well, we have a "how do you study?" topic so I thought we should have a "how do you teach?" one as well. I'm not making it a sticky yet, because I want to see if this thread gains any popularity first.

Anyway, I've been assigned to train a new engineer at my department and since I'm not a teacher by profession, I'd like to have some tips from the pro's in here Smile

During High School and even now at University I had loads of friends ask me for help, in fact... one time I taught an entire class a topic in High School... and I was a student just like them. Sometimes I find teaching actually a good method of studying as well. You're iterating and exercising what you know and that kinda reinforces your knowledge.

Most of the time when I'm helping others, they generally have very little knowledge about what they're suppose to learn. Rather than going from the very beginning (you know, the excruciatingly detailed stuff), I give them a general idea and then slowly fill in the gaps. The good thing about this is that once they start learning the more specific stuff either by filling the blanks themselves or by me telling them what it is, it's a lot more within context.

I also try to make them think. I tell them what happens when x,y,z but I don't explain why, instead I make them think. When people figure out something themselves, it's more likely they'll understand it and remember it.