FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Re-sizing partitions and re-formating HD with Win7 CD

ms_j
So, this is what happened to me couple of months ago. I sorted it out, but maybe since there are a lot of people here who know more about computers then me, maybe someone can tell me what went wrong. I am mostly self taught when it comes to computers so I'm really curious. Please, any information will be useful.

I have 3 partitions C,D and E. I used "Partition Master" (I think thats the name) to chop a part of the E drive and I wanted to attach it it to C. The chopping away part went ok. But then I assigned that part to C drive, the process started. It passed E drive successfully (new unallocated space was at the end, & it needed to go over E and D drive to get to C drive). But something went wrong while it was passing D drive. When computer restarted, D drive was missing. It just was't there.

So I decided to just re-format C and D drive. I wanted to use Win 7 boot CD. It re-formated C drive without a problem. But it didn't want to re-format the D drive. All I could do was to delete it,but I couldn't format a new drive out of that, now unallocated space. In the end, I put in my Win XP cd which allowed me to go to DOS and I formated everything old-fashioned style.

I apologize for non-technical terms, but like I said, I am self-taught.

Any ideas?
jilbs
hi. what was your question exactly? seems like you've already solved your problem. ^^
ms_j
Yeah, I did. The question was why did the partition D disappear after using Partition Master, and why I couldn't format the partition using Win7 CD but I could do it in DOS? I used that Win7 CD once before to re-format my HD and it worked just fine.
flamepjlh
ms_j wrote: