FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Advice on switching OS [Windows --> UNIX? Linux?]

davidv
Hi,

I've been using Windows OS for a good 6 - 7 years however recently I was introduced to a new OS, UNIX. Right now, I don't have much knowledge on UNIX other than the UNIX terminal which I've been happily playing around using RE and of course using VIM as a text editor so I was wondering if you guys can give me some info on this.

I wanted to know:

1. How can I make the transition from Windows to UNIX without deleting anything
2. Because I still would like to use Windows and UNIX on the same machine I wanted to know how can I achieve this
3. Is UNIX free?
4. What's the deal with Linux and UNIX? Are they somewhat cousins? Is there a difference between the two?
5. Does Linux and UNIX have the exact terminal functionalities?
6. Is it possible to run both Windows and Linux or UNIX at the same time?
7. Are the following languages supported by Linux/UNIX?
- SQL (mySQL): Right now, I'm using the windows terminal, I don't know if this would work othewise
- C/C++
- PHP
- I'm going to assume JAVA/Python/CGI scripting/XHTML/CSS all work within Linux/UNIX OSs

Also, if you guys think I should know something please feel free to say so.

Thanks,
David
noobcake
I may not be entirely qualified to answer this, since I haven't actually ever used a Unix system before. I have used Unix-like operating systems though (Linux and Mac OS X, although not so much experience on the Mac).

Quote:
1. How can I make the transition from Windows to UNIX without deleting anything