FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

GIMP

macky
hi guys im new to linux and i found out this GIMP or the GNU Image Manipulation Program. Now way back before, i intend to use Photoshop on my daily habit in windows. I've learned there from most video tutorials and books. I've google around about GIMP but only few of them provide tips and tricks, e-learning and share their works..

Now im wondering if there is such an materials like a i said a while ago to learn fast using this GIMP.

Thanks in advance! Smile
silverdown
Why not try searching on this forum for "Gimp"?

I found a usefull one

http://www.frihost.com/forums/vt-12062.html
gs-resume
I not so sure about the how-to guides and so forth, (always there is being the http://www.gimp.org/tutorials/ page) but one thing you must like to be installing are the tools. believe them to be called gimp-plugin-registry. so if using the ubuntu, you can install the tools from command line by issuing forth the:

"sudo apt-get install gimp-plugin-registry". Tools also available from the synaptic under the same title: gimp-plugin-registry. The batch resizer is nice. lets you shrink image sizes in batch. so if you take large size photos w/ a high mega-pixels, it lets you shrink the MBs for more manageable size photos for emailing web-posting and what-not.
jcreus
macky wrote:
hi guys im new to linux and i found out this GIMP or the GNU Image Manipulation Program. Now way back before, i intend to use Photoshop on my daily habit in windows. I've learned there from most video tutorials and books. I've google around about GIMP but only few of them provide tips and tricks, e-learning and share their works..

Now im wondering if there is such an materials like a i said a while ago to learn fast using this GIMP.

Thanks in advance! Smile

I remember a great tutorial called Grokking the GIMP which covers many aspects of this great software Smile.
weltkarte