FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Anyone ever grow their own food?

watersoul
After reading a few comments about the difficulties a fellow Frihoster has sourcing some fresh local fruit & vegetables, (in the 'Whats your favourite dish?' topic) it got me wondering if anyone grows their own here?

Even if you only have a sunny window you can grow chilli's, tomatoes, even runner beans quite successfully.
Spring is about here now so I'll be starting on my own plans for a summer crop - tomatoes, lettuce, radishes, runner beans, onions, and strawberries.
I'm no expert and I'm not into too much hard work either, but with a few medium size containers and a bit of patience it's surprising the results you can get.
Interested in anyone elses growing experiences, especially in the many different climates we all come from?
iman
this is probably what you're not looking for, but I once took out a week-old donut out of the fridge and ate it, only to find out later that there were molds under the donut. So I think I "grew" what I ate?
saratdear
Been trying to do so for a few days...tomatoes, beans, chillies, and all the rest of it. Except the beans, all of them have been a bit reluctant to come out of the soil. Smile Even with all the care. Anyway, with the nice rains I've been getting in my place, some more would probably raise their heads.
watersoul
@ iman - Yep that works as 'grow your own' but yuk though! Laughing

@ saratdear - Good luck with your crops, which beans are you growing though, Runner Beans like me or something different?
panicmanic
I grow my own basil and chives, but I dont have room for much else. My mother keeps a veggie garden with zucchini, peppers, peas and onions in the summer. Delicious!
watersoul
You can't beat fresh herbs thats for sure, how about try a chilli plant as well, they're not too big.