FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Do you enjoy cooking?

TurtleShell
For the last two and a half years, I've been a full-time cook for my family. Since I started baking my own bread, I've become VERY interested in making everything I can from scratch. Everything from sauces to broths, breads to cakes, soups to risottos. I don't harvest my own food, but I like to buy produce as fresh as possible, and I like to cut back as much as I can on buying boxed food products.

I love to talk about cooking, and I'd love to hear from some other people out there who share my enthusiasm. Do you have a specialty? What do you enjoy cooking the most?

I'm a vegetarian, which makes cooking a little more complicated in some ways, but it's just as rewarding as cooking meats, I think.
ocalhoun
I actually very much enjoy cooking, though I only cook for myself.

Rather than make everything from scratch, I'll usually start with some pre-made product (like store-bought pasta sauce), but I always add things to it and change it to make it extremely delicious.
(In the pasta sauce example, I might add roasted tomato and red pepper, some fresh spices, and use good Italian sausage rather than beef... and cook the meat separately along with the veggies first. Add that to tricks like boiling the noodles with spices and olive oil, and adding in delicate spices like garlic after cooking, and it gets very good.)

I also tend to go 'freestyle' I never measure anything, nor do I ever follow recipes except occasionally as rough guidelines. Usually turns out good enough to make the guys at work jealous of my packed lunch though. ^.^
Cheeldash
I like to cook too, but i'm not very expert. Everytime i use oil, i use too much,
My speciality is pasta and cheese, after the pasta is ready, the water is removed and the cheeses diced are added in the pot along with some oil and one egg. When the cheeses melt it ready.