FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Fundamentals of Marketing

_AVG_
I had been pondering this a long while and simply cannot find answers to my questions online or in marketing related books etc. so here goes:
- What strategy/strategies would you say are the best to market a newly started business, a new product, etc. something that nobody has heard of. How do you make it popular? Is there any fool-proof method?
- Also, as far as risk capital is concerned, how much would you recommend be put aside for the purpose of marketing? I know it depends on the industrial sector and product (of course, tertiary goods would require a lot of marketing as opposed to maybe ancillary goods) but my question in particular relates to manufacturing - what I have found is that about 30-40% capital goes into marketing (it seemed too large to me) : is this an accurate picture?

I'm relatively new to this field so please bear with my naive questions.
menino
Marketing is a very prominent part of business, where it is used to attract consumers, in the form of advertising, be it television, radio, newspapers, magazines, billboards, etc.
This is to get consumers to get familiar with the brand.
If the name is out there, then consumers will be confident to buy the products.

Thats why marketing is a huge thing in any company.

Some companies use cheap marketing, by sending bulk emails to consumers, but personally, I find it come as spam.
Other cheap methods are to advertise in cheap events like a kids baseball, basketball games.. by sponsoring them and also placing large billboards on them.

There's more to marketing than just the above, and can also be scientific and creative at the same time.
The main focus is to get popularity, and consumer confidence in the products.
Marketing is also called "mass selling".
Colkins
harjos wrote:
Create a Web site that is a conversion machine, turning visitors into prospects or customers.