FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Going backward while in the DRIVE postition

pll
Well I'm a new driver and I took the car of my father tonight, this was a great trip except for one thing.... I live in a place where there's tons of snow and ice.

So I went up on the top of an hill (there was a STOP on the top so I stopped) and when I wanted to keep going forward, I realized the car was stuck on the ice under me. After few seconds I decided to put the brakes but when I did it the car started to go backward (down the hill)

So I have some questions as a new (non-experienced driver)

1. I know the brakes surely had hard times when it happened (but I didnt notice anything different while using them after) is there anything I should check on the brakes ?

2. When it started going backward I was in the DRIVE position (it's an automatic car), is it dangerous for the transmission or something ?

3. When I got down the hill I noticed that 3 lights opened up in the dash (I remember the ''check engine'' was on and the ''brakes'' light too, but I restarted the car and everything disappeared and I didn't notice anything wrong with the usage of the car after), but is there something that I should do after a such experience to see if the engine or something inside was damaged ?

Thanks for the help and I can't wait to become an experienced driver who know how to handle icy roads... Crying or Very sad
jwellsy
I doubt if anything is wrong with the car. If it routinely stalls it probably just needs a tune up.

The biggest problem was stopping facing uphill. Try not to come to a complete stop on ice uphill. When you loose your momentum thats what happens.

One trick I've done before when I can't make it up an icy hill is to slide back and back into a side street or even a driveway. Then use that side street/driveway to get a running start to build up enough momentum to get further up the hill.