FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Linux: Screen Recorder

macky
I'm new to ubuntu 10.10 gnome and i'm wondering what's the best screen recorder.

I'm currently using desktop recorder but its sucks since the output has some bugs. Graphics become

pixel and and im move, not all objects appears on the video... i'm wondering what does the other users use

especially those videos uploaded in youtube which has great video output.
Peterssidan
I use recordMyDesktop (gtk). I think it is very good and easy to use. It allows you to specify the window to record from and has more settings but often the default is fine.
Here is a youtube video recorded by recordMyDesktop:

The graphics looks good but the music can sound a little bad sometimes. I guess that could have been helped by increasing the sound frequency setting.

If you want to record OpenGL graphics you will have to enable "Full shot at every frame". This is not optimal but it is the only way I know of.
pauline123
I would suggest at least trying vlc. It is an easy video player/audio player, and besides those features it can grab about anything if you set it up right and give it the correct information. Sometimes it works wonders, other times it will not cut crud. It just depends on how the cpu and ram work with the OS and how vlc interacts with it.

Sometimes, like I said it is a wonderful program for catching your screen and other times it just sucks. There are other programs, a plethora, of them but for my purposes of screenshots and a few films I use vlc.

It can even be used to record your screen while it plays (in another instance) a movie.

My two cents give vlc a try.
keyman
http://nullkey.ath.cx/projects/glc