FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Php addict

michaelagustin
Hi guys, I'm just new to php. I would like to make a website which has inputs but because i am not very well in php, would you like to share your good thoughts in php? just some good ideas. hehehe! Thanks
Asap170
Well if you wanted to store user data you have something like this:

HTML PART: index.html
Code:

<html>
<head>
</head>
<body>
     <form action="store.php" name="userInfo" method="POST">
          First Name: <input type="text" name="fname"/>
          Last Name: <input type="text" name="lname"/>
          Sex: <input type="radio" name="sex" value="male"/> Male<br />
          <input type="radio" name="sex" value="female"/> Female
          Height: <input type="text" name="height"/>
          Address: <input type="text" name="address"/>
          <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Submit"/>
     </form>
</body>
</html>

PHP PART: store.php
Code:

<?php
     // Grab the data from the user
          $name = $_POST['fname'];
          $name = $_POST['lname'];
          $age = $_POST['age'];
          $sex = $_POST['sex'];
          $height = $_POST['height'];
          $address = $_POST['address'];

// Create MySQL information
          $host = localhost;
          $name = yourUsername;
          $pass = yourPassword;
          $dbName = yourDbName;

// Make a MySQL connection
          mysql_connect('$host', '$user', '$pass') or die(mysql_error());
          mysql_select_db('$dbName') or die(mysql_error());

// Insert data into a table
         $sql = "INSERT INTO People (firstName, lastName, age, sex, height, address)
              VALUES ('$fname', '$lname', '$age', '$sex', '$height', '$address')";

// Display output
          if (!mysql_query($sql))
               {
                    die(mysql_error());
               }