You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Regarding BitTorrent.

I have a question regarding Frihost's policy about Bittorrent. I am a Computer Science Instructor for a state university. One of the topics in my ever-changing curriculum involves file sharing in general, through use of the Bittorrent protocol. In particular, several linux distros use Bittorrent, to update in a pseudo-rolling release fashion. Some of my research includes improving the (file system independent) common buffer cache. Essentially, an interface between the kernel and the concrete file system, on any Linux system. I don't usually label myself as a developer, but I can claim to be part of the BitTorrent releases which are distributed to beta systems.

That setup, of course, was to establish a completely legitimate use of the Bittorrent protocol. I've always seen potential behind more and more people using Bittorrent to swap things larger than email attachments support, databases of pictures or libraries of codec, and the like. I am well aware of the copyright issues associated with distributing copyrighted material, but I believe that the decision to partake in downloading / distributing such media is a personal decision. I allow my students to make that same decision themselves, but teach them the method as an algorithm or solution to a problem: sharing large amounts of data.

I can assure you that there is nothing inherently harmful about a protocol, despite what it may be capable of. In the guide I've written, I teach people how to configure a BitTorrent client to download, update (by script) operating system files on a separate disk partition. The OS in question is Ubuntu, which is open source (for the most part) and released under the GNU GPL.

If one were to hypothetically write a Torrenting How-To guide, and ask for the frihost's community's feedback - would one be censored by the following rule?