FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

History of internet scams

saratdear
Discover how to go from being an absolute beginner to earning $4500 a week just by working for an hour a day!!!
By reading this article, you'll understand how to work from home to make millions every month! This information can be yours for just $97 (normally $147) if you act today!!!

Does the above passage seem familiar to you? If you've been around in the internet for sometime, you'll have smelled an Internet Scam.

But what if you were not clever enough to recognize it was a scam? Here is a lowdown of the most popular internet scams of all time...

AllAdvantage - Internet advertising company which promised "Get Paid to Surf the Web". Needless to say, it collapsed when the dot com bubble burst in 2000.

AGLOCO - Started by the founders of AllAdvantage, this one promised money for surfing. Users had to download a toolbar and keep it running all the time while surfing. They soon found that revenue wasn't flowing in as fast as it needed to flow out. I'd like to mention here that I downloaded the toolbar, too. Razz

The Nigerian Scam, also known as 419 - This one usually occurs via email. A distressed family from Nigeria mails you asking for help to transfer their million dollar funds. If you help them with the legal fees, you'll get a cut, too. Doesn't this have 'SCAM' written all over it? Still people fall for it.

The Lottery Scam - I still remember myself, a young gullible kid, calling my dad excitedly on the phone while he was at work. I had won an internet lottery! Rolling Eyes These kind usually show up in emails, but you might also see one flashing banner from time to time, promising millions. Never fall for these.