You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How is caculus applied to computer science?

I'm a freshman of computer science and technology. Besides the C programming language, we have to study caculus and linear algebra as well. Unfortunately, I find myself interested in programming only and caculus quite hard and dull.
It seems to me computer science contributes a lot to the development of math, while I can't imagine how caculus be applied to computer science. Perhaps students who study maths should learn computer science.
Are we studying maths to find a new way to look at the world? I was told that a few days ago.
Calculus is essential. Any program which needs to model movement requires calculus - that is how you calculate things like velocity. Any time you need to calculate a specific value of a quantity that is continuously varying then you are likely to need calculus.

Computer science has contributed a little to the general subject of maths - particularly in complexity theory - but more often it is maths that provides the computer scientist with the tools he/she needs.

In short, you cannot hope to study computer science in any depth without a solid grounding in maths, and that includes calculus.
Bikerman is quite right: you can't be a good programmer without calculus.

Let's use games, for example (and i chose games because everyone knows them, and they are surprisingly sophisticated pieces of software engineering).

Your linear algebra will come into play heavily in the graphics engine. All modern games use 3D graphics, and under the hood, all 3D graphics is, is just a collection of points (vertices) that are usually 1x3 matrices (or 3 point vectors). You use transformation matrices and matrix multiplication to turn 3D objects around, and orient them in camera space so you can see them. And that's just the start.