FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

[DONE] Moved from Vista to Windows 7

snowboardalliance
[edit]By the way, it's done, but no one reads the whole thread anymore... Feel free to add to the discussion if you want.[/edit]

So I keep forgetting that as a student I can get so much Microsoft software for free. I have been using Vista for a while now and I'm getting sick of the little issues that keep cropping up. Honestly, I haven't minded it as much as some people, but I'm ready to move. How do other Windows 7 users like the changes?

Some specific Vista issues I'm having are: Desktop Window Manager crashing every few days (minor annoyance), task scheduler no longer remembers my password so overnight tasks like anti-virus and defrag aren't running (this only started about a month ago), occasional slowness that is inherent with Windows over time, I was getting some weird freezes for a few days but that has gone away (knock on wood). Anyway, I hope to see some improvements even on my 2.5 year old machine.

I'm waiting until I have a few days to take the time and install all of my software (oh man...always hate that...), but I'm downloading it now because having MSDNAA is awesome and I want to make the switch soon.
Fire Boar
Windows 7 is to Windows Vista what a lively theme park is to an abandoned parking lot.
ahnguye5
If I were in your situation, I'd take the opportunity to crossover to Linux. I've been running Vista on my laptop for 3 years with no problem. All the things you've said about certain things not working can be fixed more or less by using non-Microsoft products. Avast, open office, defraggler, and foxit for your anti-virus, office suite, defrag tool, and pdf reader respectively. The biggest gripe you always hear about Vista is the UAC which I don't find to be annoying at all.