FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

I can't open a usb flash or a memory device on my computer(w

Chukastle
I've been using my microsoft XP for about two years now. But, two months ago, a friend of mine asked me to do an assignment for him and I accepted. So, I started by visiting the cybercafe & copying for the all information I needed to the usb flash and open it on my computer system. I did this about 5 times and afterward, when I tried to insert the usb flash again, the message I get is '...removable disk not installed, your device might not work properly'. I went to the control panel. It said the device is unknown- driver file missing, tried system restore but could restore it back to a previous restore point. Tried cleaning up the system(thought it was caused by a virus), I contacted microsoft, the instructions I got didn't work. Pls, what else can I do? Maybe I should buy a new system.
jwellsy
Try the thumbdrive on a different pc. Thumbdrives can break.
weableandbob
Yes, try it on a different PC. If it works there, it may just be Windows screwing up-think about re installing.
Fire Boar
Try what other people are suggesting. Even if Windows is totally messed up, that's no reason to get a new PC - the hardware is still good to use, you just need to install a fresh operating system on it.
jilbs
Try these:

1. Do a system restore when your windows was still working. (for software related issues on you PC)
2. Plug the thumbdrive on other USB ports, remove any USB hub that you are using if there is.
3. If still doesn't work, check the voltage that is coming from your USB port. maybe, there is not enough power from your USB Port to make it work.

Good luck.
airh3ad
Try your drive in other Operating system like linux, ubunto ,apple if not work in windows xp. sometimes it work also. or refotmat it.
FunDa
Chukastle wrote: