FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

This months edition of Good News

Bikerman
I have a monthly subscription to Good News - a publication by the United Church of God in the US (it was free, they pestered me, and I fancied seeing what they were publishing).

It didn't disappoint. It contains some of the worst creationist propoganda I have seen - in a glossy magazine with a smaller booklet included on a special 'theme of the month'.

I'm going to pick a shortish article out of each edition every month and post it up here. I'll give FRIH$500 to the best rebuttal of the article posted - by which I mean a thorough demolition of it, not just a few comments. Believe me these articles are not hard to refute, so I'll be looking for style, elegance of argument and comprehensive coverage, as well as pointing out fallacies of logic and outright lies. I'll use the winning entry as a voiceover for part of a monthly video I'm producing to debunk the publication.

I'll scan/OCR the articles for convenience. Here is this month's article:
Good News magazine wrote:

How Naturalism—Rejection of God—Holds Humanity Captive

Dr. Phillip Johnson, retired emer­itus professor at Boalt School of Law at the University of Cali­fornia, Berkeley, wrote an insightful book, Reason in the Balance: The Case Against Naturalism in Science, Law and Education (1995). His book helps us understand how easily influenced we are by agnostics and atheists, who write many of our school textbooks and dominate many of our classrooms and school curri­cula. A Christian society can be badly corrupted by educating its young people in Darwinian evolution. Dr. Johnson describes how an entire societal culture is shaped by Darwinists: