You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Great Performances

Here's a couple of performances which rate very highly in my books...

One of my favorites, this year at Rock Werchter, Belgium.

And that is nice!
Both his early and late performances are very nice. In young years he was just getting drunk on scene with his shouty lyrics, now he uses megaphone and other cool stuff.
I love Mr. Waits.
A bit different than what's been posted so far but:

Another I really enjoy...

As an aspiring guitarist, I've watched this so many times and it never ceases to amaze me how the guitar, even backed by the orchestra, just wails over the top. Vai is one of my favorites of all time.
"Thanks for having us Sydney,its been a blast"

Crowded House farewell concert in Sydney 1996.

"This song is not a rebel song,this song is Sunday bloody Sunday"

U2 live at Red Rocks 1983

U2 - Under a blood red sky
Steve Vai is the man! -- didn't he accuse Coldplay of stealing their new song from him (Viva la Vida). Smae riff, but certaintly not the same song.
gverutes wrote:
Steve Vai is the man! -- didn't he accuse Coldplay of stealing their new song from him (Viva la Vida). Smae riff, but certaintly not the same song.

That was Joe Satriani (not Vai), and I believe they settled out of court (it could have been dismissed, I don't remember). The song was too close for coincidence in my opinion. Not to get off topic, but here's a comparison:

I am very hesitant to post videos of live performances here. My reasoning is that I have been to hundreds of metal shows (and I basically only listen to metal and so those would be the kind of things I'd post) and there is simply no possible way to do a metal show justice with a Youtube video. I have been to jazz and classical shows and they can be done justice because of the style of the music. But metal is different. Metal has so much energy in it that it simply cannot be portrayed in a video.