FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Why old pain come back during winters?

hunnyhiteshseth
Have you ever noticed that if you have an injury in some joint and even after healing the pain in that joint come back during winters although in a mild form. Why does it happen? What changes in the body that body again starts to feel pain in old injury during winters?
deanhills
I'm not an expert ... but I'm going to give this a try. I would imagine if we were cold and if there wasn't sufficient heating, blood would flow away from our extremities to warm up the essential parts in priority. The warm blood that was previously available in the "old injured" areas, would no longer be available.
hunnyhiteshseth
But old injured areas must have healed by the time winter hits - but the pain from injury that happened many years before also comes back.
menino
Yes, I have some old injuries and a few scars and bruises that hurt more in winter.
My doc told me at the time is because of constriction of the blood vessels, and the skin, as well as the ligaments, which otherwise would flow freely.
In that sense, the injury is never 100% healed... I mean as long as you have a scar there.
If its a joint, there must have been some wear, which has not completely healed.

I guess the temperature difference gives us a reminder that we shoudn't exert more strain on the injuries.. and as a reminder of how we got those wounds. Confused
LittleBlackKitten