FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Any preppers on Frihost?

Jinx
For those unfamiliar with the term as it's used here, a prepper is a person who is concerned about being able to survive in the event of a disruption of normal life. This could be anything from a short term power outage to a week or more without power or other utilities due to a hurricane, earthquake, tornado , or other natural disaster, to the long term disruption of society and supply lines caused by a financial collapse or major disaster (TEOTWAWKI).

I've recently started prepping because I see major financial problems on the horizon - including the possibility of a second Great Depression or hyper-inflationary collapse here in the US because of our government's poor money management skills.

As a truck driver I have a front-row view of how fragile our supply system is. After Katrina there were many gas stations and truck stops that had no fuel across the American South-East, and that was a region-wide disruption because of a localized disaster. And the government's reaction to Katrina, and their response to the more recent oil spill have seriously undermined my confidence in the government's ability to ride to the rescue if things go wrong.

Is anyone else here prepping for future disaster? I'd love to compare notes, discuss what-if scenarios, and hear about what you are doing to survive after TSHTF.

Or, if anyone here what's to know more, I'd be glad to share links to some of the resources I've found across the web.
deanhills