FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How many Operating System exist in this world?

elegant
Hello Everyone,

Greetings.

Anyone knows how many operating systems exist in this world and why microsoft windows is most popular.
fladry
How many oprating systems are there? i don't think there is any count because you can easily tweak the source of the smaller open source operating systems and make it your operating system. Windows is the most popular among them because it is one of the best os and it is already used in lots of computers. And, large amount of softwares are made for windows.
Jean-Clod
Well, for Desktops/Servers, there are 4 main types of operating systems: Windows, and the three UNIX-based ones: Linux, MacOS, BSD
most OS' are based on those. I know, there are ones that aren't forks of those, but these aren't really used anymore

But I am no expert
Fire Boar
There are thousands. For computers, the most popular are Windows, Linux and Mac OS, with various UNIX derivatives occupying the rest of the market. The only one not based on UNIX is Windows, and it suffers for it. Nevertheless, Windows is popular because it's already popular. It's circular.

For the average layperson, this is how it works. They resist change, they stick with what they know. When there's an upgrade, since most people use Windows, all computers come with it preinstalled. People buy it, hate it because it's not the same as the last version, get used to it, and the cycle repeats.

Building on this familiarity, when the average person turns on a computer they see the Windows logo. They start to think, Windows is their computer, without decoupling it from the operating system. They then start to expect the Windows logo to appear every time they turn on any computer, and get confused and worried if/when things are different. So organizations tend to use Windows too, and commercial companies make software for Windows.