FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Your photography techniques

Ankhanu
I'm far from an expert, or even a good amateur, but I think I've probably been developing a bit of a style in my photography. I thought it could be interesting to discuss and/or reveal some of the technique tendencies we use when taking a picture. Please, chime in with some of your techniques you use on a regular basis! I'd love to hear how you approach using your camera to get what you want.

I'm a lover of macro photography; getting up close and revealing the little things we tend to overlook day to day. I think this has greatly influenced how I compose/frame a shot. I'll list a couple aspects of how my macro love has influenced how I shoot:
.: I find that I tend to shoot at low angles; getting down close to the ground, "eye to eye" as it were, or even shoot from below.
.: I look for interesting textures or shadows
.: I tend to work with a shallow depth of field/focus (DOF)
I'm not sure that my tendency to place the focal point of an image in the lower right or left of the frame comes from macro or just a general photographic principle, but it's something I tend to do. Shallow DOF is partially borne of wanting to focus on a small detail, but also comes from my tendency to shoot, camera-in-hand, in low light without flash. This got me in the habit of using wide apertures as much as possible to ensure that I could take a clear picture with minimal hand-shake. I've begun using flash a bit more, but still have to get the hang of it; the extra weight on the camera makes getting close/steady more difficult; but the faster shutter speed is nice Razz In general, I dislike pixel/film noise, so try and use as low an ISO as possible. Sometimes noise is appropriate, but I don't work with it very well.