FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Beginning of Space and Time

phys10NEK
I am just a beginner in the physics world but I have a lot of questions. First off I will start basic: How did space and time come to be?
ocalhoun
Does it have to have a beginning? Maybe it was always there.
Indi
That's not really a basic question. ^_^; There is no scientific answer to that question yet, but lots of speculation. Unfortunately, none of the speculation is "basic"... and it involves lots of deep theorizing about unrolling dimensions. You might want to start with a simpler question, or you'll be swamped quickly.
badai
here, the most relevant explanation

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minkowski_space

it's kind of old, 1907. where were you all this while?
Bikerman
badai wrote:
here, the most relevant explanation

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minkowski_space

it's kind of old, 1907. where were you all this while?

I think you misunderstood the question.
Minkowski space is just a method of displaying spacetime (4 dimensional) which is very useful when working with relativity. It doesn't explain where space and time came from.
_AVG_
Well, the most commonly accepted theory, The Big Bang Theory, simplistically put is that "space and time" were created during the Big Bang (some sort of a huge explosion that occured that gave birth to the universe)

And, just to get into a few rudimentary details, at the instant the Big Bang occured, the Universe was infinitely dense (some sort of an egg - akin to an atom I thinK?) and all the four fundamental forces were one. Correct me if I'm wrong .. I'm not sure.
Bikerman
_AVG_ wrote:
Well, the most commonly accepted theory, The Big Bang Theory, simplistically put is that "space and time" were created during the Big Bang (some sort of a huge explosion that occured that gave birth to the universe)