FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Trekking in Himachal Pradesh?

saratdear
Hi,

My school has planned this whole "adventure" trip to North India (I am in the South) during our summer hols, and our school selected trekking, rafting etc. etc. in Himachal Pradesh. I've signed up, but the thing is I've never been even to the middle to India, let alone the north. Embarassed My mother is going crazy at my idea - "It's a new place - you'll catch some disease - why risk?" and so on. I understand her concern, but I'm excited at the idea of going there with all my friends.

Has anybody got any experience on trekking, rafting etc near those areas? Any idea how tough that will be? I've got no previous experience.

Sarat
deanhills
Maybe you should ask the organizers what level of trekking they will be doing and ask for a list of the skills that are needed. There is no embarassment in that. They would admire you for it. As there is trekking and trekking. Some trekking is more advanced and require a greater degree of skills than others. It is important that you do as you may end up hurting yourself or indirectly or directly hurting others as usually there is a lot of teamwork involved.
ocalhoun
While I don't know much about that area, I have done quite a lot of 'trekking', and a little rafting as well.

Hiking Equipment: