FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Good Rock/Metal songs?

speeDemon
Well, I'm a guitarist, and I've learnt it the hard way that if I have to play in my school, then I'll have to learn loads of riffs and guitar pieces... But i dont really know where to start....

I've got around 10 songs of each MetallicA, Iron Maiden, Greenday, Nirvana...
Could anyone recommend anything else..?
I would really appreciate it!

I am able to figure out the riffs on my own, I just need some new (or old) great rock songs to work with....
liljp617
Could learn some Ozzy material -- no harm in learning some Randy Rhoads or Jake E. Lee.

Megadeth is another -- Mustaine and Friedman (and now Broderick) are definitely worthy of learning.

If you want to learn some cool metal riffs and rhythm, Slayer is a great place to get that (although I don't think you'll learn any solo material there to be honest).

Alice In Chains has some good rock rhythm/riffs -- Cantrell has a unique style and if you can take some of his playing away from practice that's great.

Almost any Black Sabbath song is worthy of learning and practicing. Iommi is one of the best rhythm players in my opinion and he has a lot of good lead work as well.

For more lead material, Satriani, Vai, and Petrucci are good candidates, although they're well above the abilities of most beginner/intermediate players. It might be a good idea to pick riffs here and there from their music to practice string skipping, legato, etc.

Maiden also fits into this group of lead material. If you're looking to practice legato, quick runs, etc. they have some great material and usually it isn't that difficult compared to Satriani and the like. I don't think you'll get too many rhythm practice from Maiden though, as their rhythm is usually pretty beginner-ish, tempo is the same in most of their songs, and they use the same basic power chords in a ton of their songs.