FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Need Help in PHP Coding

k_s_baskar
Hi,
I am having MySQL Database with fields laptop name, price, review. This database consist of 1500+ records.

Now i want to create separte html files for each record where files names should be laptopmodel.html, laptopmodel2.html, laptopmodel3.html and so on..... I am new to php can somebody please help me create simple script to generate 1500+ files automatically.

thanks in advance
Peterssidan
why do you want to create one file for each record? Often it's best to just have one file and show different content depending on url parameters. You can even make it look like different files even if it's not using mod rewrite.
Fire Boar
You want .htaccess here.

Code:
RewriteEngine on

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !=/favicon.ico
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ routing.php?q=$1 [L,QSA]

Then in your routing.php script, or one of the files included by it:

Code:
function arg($n = NULL) {
  static $arguments;
  if (!isset($arguments)) {
    $arguments = explode('/', $_GET['q']);
  }
  if (!isset($n)) {
    return $arguments;
  }
  if (isset($arguments[$n])) {
    return $arguments[$n];
  }
}

You can now use the arg function in your php script to discover what the URL requested was. Example: www.yourdomain.com/path/to/file.html. arg(0) will return 'path', arg(1) will return 'to', arg(2) will return 'file.html'.

You can now use PHP scripts to figure out exactly what you want to do.
rvec
you should make one PHP file just like two other posters just said. make it something like laptopmodel.php?id=0, laptopmodel.php?id=1, laptopmodel.php?id=2
and instead of making HTML files just make one dynamic PHP file which fetches the rows out of the MySQL database at the user's request.
ProwerBot
One seperate html page? lol that would just get annoying eventualley.