FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Anybody using ubuntu in here?

lbs
Anybody using ubuntu in here? I have been using kubuntu for about 6 months and loving it! It has a few strange quirks, but I am really looking forward to the next release. Some things like SD and flash card mounting and intermitant root problems make it trying sometimes, but I think it is headed in the right direction for shure! I have been using linux since 2001 and gone through quit a few distros, and so fare ubunto is my favorite. Do you use ubuntu? Share you experiances here. What do you like and not like? What problems have you had and how did you fix them?
vinx_18
i've been using UBUNTU since 2004. I'm loving it. The only problem for me is when installing some devices. But I know UBUNTU community is looking forward to this.
Daniel15
Yeah, I use Ubuntu on my laptop, and I love it Very Happy. I've been using Ubuntu since version 5.04 came out (April 2005), and it's been getting better ever since Smile.

Quote:
Some things like SD and flash card mounting

I think they're almost there... The SD card reader of my laptop (a Dell Inspiron 6400) used to not work at all, but now it works partially (if I boot up with the SD card in the slot, it works, but once I remove the card, it will no longer be detected if I reinsert it).
Stubru Freak
I used it for 3 months, it was so great. Only problem: my internet was 10 times faster in Windows. So I'm using Windows again, the last 3 months, but I'm missing the Ubuntu features every day.
Animal
Moved to Operating Systems.
Arno v. Lumig
Stubru Freak wrote:
I used it for 3 months, it was so great. Only problem: my internet was 10 times faster in Windows. So I'm using Windows again, the last 3 months, but I'm missing the Ubuntu features every day.