FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

DDR3 - dual channel vs. triple channel?

Helios
Right, so I'm really new to this DDR3 business.
Please, can somebody explain the dual channel DDR3 supported motherboards and the other ones with 6 slots?
I tried looking for a good explanation online, but didn't find any good article or something in that sense.
fadirocks
from what I heard from Tom's Hardware DDR3 triple channel kinda failed and doesn't have much advantage over dual channel
David_Pardy
I would find that surprising given some of the tests Guru of 3D have done. Granted triple channel is only a new technology, I would be in no hurry to rule out its usefulness.

Currently, triple channel RAM is ONLY available when you're using an Intel I7 processor on a compatible motherboard.

If you've got the money and are looking into upgrading, I would say go for it as the I7 processors are expensive but unmatched in processing power.

If you're looking at upgrading but aren't filthy rich, I would strongly suggest building a Phenom II X4 965 machine with 4 or 8GB running in dual channel. The AMD machines are fantastic bang for buck and you can't really go wrong with that Smile.

I'm planning on building a new machine around next July or so. My research has led me to believe that running two ATI Radeon 5770 in Crossfire is the best bang for back (at this point in time) for graphics performance (better and cheaper than a single 5870), coupled with the Phenom II X4. Depending on what's actually available when I build the new machine, I may end up going with a triple channel DDR3 system as my next computer is going to be as future proof as I can make it.
coreymanshack
fadirocks wrote:
from what I heard from Tom's Hardware DDR3 triple channel kinda failed and doesn't have much advantage over dual channel

Go read the Toms Hardware i7 vs Phenom...
Triple channel DDR3 more than doubled memory bandwidth
ciureanuc