FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Lightweight Linux

Phinx
As i continue to unravel the misteries of the Linux world, i come across the categorie of so called 'Ligweight Linux'. What is a lightweight linux? Well it is basically a linux derivative, based on major systems like Debian, Slackware and so on, that uses Openbox, Fluxbox, IceWM, XFCE or other desktop enviroment rather than GNOME or KDE, to reduce resource consumption and has software preinstalled that will use as little memory as possible, opposed to such megabrands as OpenOffice. This gives your old hardware one more chance to shine.

So the question is, how many of you actually are interested in these nifty little alternatives? Does anyone here actually uses any of these little wonders?

So far i'm just a beginner, browsing through names like Wolvis, Vector Linux, Puppy Linux, Arch Linux. Can't say anything very specific just yet, i need another week to have something inresting to announce Smile
sheedatali
Of course they have their usage, I have used pretty much all of them. From a typical desktop user perspective, they are not suitable. They are meant to be for experienced to advanced users who can workout things on their own etc. And of course they are very handy when you want to carry something mobile on a USB stick and use it as your OS. Typical systems out there these days are too powerful for such distributions but they are very handy indeed in certain situations.
Peterssidan