FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Graphic Design Marketing

haris3
I'm a St. Louis based graphic designer just getting into the business world. Does anyone else have experience in freelance work working mostly for print and printing?

What are some tips to market my business and get publicity?
Does door to door marketing work for this kind of work?

Thanks,
AftabDesigns

My Website: http://www.aftabdesigns.com
Ghost Rider103
I have some experience with print design.

Depends on what area you are targeting on how to get your customers. If you want to keep your business locally only, then I'd suggest an ad in the paper, get yourself some flyers, business cards, etc.

I don't think going door to door will help you much. Unless you are targeting commercial businesses, then it may be effective. For example, you might have some luck going into a car dealership or a pawn shop or something similar. But I don't think going to your neighbors door is going to help you much.

But if you are in a very small town, like myself, then keeping your business local only is probably not the best idea. You may want to think of expanding your business across the internet. Which wouldn't mean you can't get local jobs, it just means that the majority of your business comes from online.

Good luck!
haris3
Thanks for your feedback. When i say Door-2-Door, i do mean commercial not residential. I live in St. Louis, which is a pretty populated city. Newspaper ads i beleive are not as affective anymore as they were once. What i'm thinking is, i should send postcards out to my market area and then stop by those businesses to offer my services in person.

Mail peices often get thrown away and are not always effective.

Large companies are usually provided with business collateral through their headquarters. I guess i would have to find out which ones are not.
umbral
i like this business
atul2242