FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

New to programming..advise please.

Twotone
I have just started looking at learning a programming language...I have been looking a C++ and will be teaching myself ...
Should I concentrate or C++ or would another language ...like visual basic or .NET be more useful ?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Ease of learning is a consideration as i am a novice Smile
coreymanshack
Twotone wrote:
I have just started looking at learning a programming language...I have been looking a C++ and will be teaching myself ...
Should I concentrate or C++ or would another language ...like visual basic or .NET be more useful ?

C++ is good to know, but chances are you aren't going to need to program anything for anyone in c++ unless you are hired in industry. I'd look at something like php or even java if i were you.
pytrash
If you are going to learn C++ then I would learn to survive in C first, it will be a whole lot easier to learn C++ after learning C than the other way around. And you will need to learn C if you program at that level.

Like coreymanshack, I think you would be better off learning php or (my personal favourite) python.

Your post was such a long time ago, you probably know half a dozen languages now. It would be interesting to know how you are getting on.
rajpk
c++ is good

but
if u wanna more

you can learn php
and
java

in industry these three c++,php and java are "in"
Fire Boar
Visual Basic is useless, and .NET isn't a language, it's a framework. I'd agree with the above: PHP is great for web applications, Java is good for making GUI applications quickly, I personally like the Qt framework for C++, which is again for GUI applications. And Python and Perl are two brilliant scripting languages for getting jobs done.
gameproff