FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Sonic 2 + 3. Better then recent games?

Mikerawr
Recently i started playing Sonic 2 and 3 on the sega again. Very old games but still as good as they can get.

I find that i Largely prefer these old outdated versions of sonic compared to the latest releases of sonic that's 3D and has the option of like 4 different teams. xD

I understand sonic had to change with the times and stuff, but they just made it so different. Sorta like pokemon that used to have a classic 100 or 101 pokemon but now have over like 300. xD sometimes little is better.

Any opinons? Razz
blk3
Well these games are considered classics. In today's mostly 3D games, every once in a while a 2D sprite based games pops-up, which makes the game very special because they are considered rareties these days.
Starrfoxx
I'm surprised you didn't mention the original Sonic. That one I have fond memories of, and I used to play that for hours trying to get as far as I could.

Some of the new ones look cool, but I've never got around to playing them. I would be curious about the Wii versions that are with Mario. My daughter loves playing the old versions of Sonic.
eday2010
Just because Sonic 2 and 3 are "very old", does not mean they are outdated. Especially when they play 100% better than any recent 2D or 3D Sonic game.

I prefer Sonic 3 over Sonic 2 by a long shot. But all the Sonic games from Sonic 1 to Sonic 3 & Knuckles are top notch. For me, the series got better and better with each game. Then Sonic 3D Blast game out, and things went downhill.
driftingfe3s
I loved the original sonic the hedgehog games. It's a shame the state the new sonic games are in. I think what made those games great was the sense of speed. If team sonic focused more on that than anything else I think they would start to move in the right direction.
JinTenshi