FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

PHP! Ahhh! How to edit! What is this installer?

Neilos
OK a few questions...

(I'm a PHP noobie btw!)

PHP 5.2.10 Released! Woo hoo! I have no experience with the previous versions but bigger is better, right?

Now I'll just down load..... ummmm..... Which one?
- http://uk3.php.net/downloads.php
- I assume that I should download a version?! Or maybe not?!
- I'm running windows xp prof. so I assume I download Windows Binary > PHP 5.2.10 installer
- OR do I need to download it at all? Should I edit the code with 'Notepad' and upload it straight to my 'frihost' hosted site. This would be annoying to work on it live.

Say I manage to download something, does it matter that I run Windows and the server may run Linux?
- Does the PHP installer just install the PHP software allowing me to have it act like a server on my PC? So I will be able to access my HTML files through it or near it or what?
- How does this software work? What does it act like?

Ok, I have more questions directly relating to PHP and not the installer but I'll post them in a new post after I clear this up.

Thanks

Neilos
rvec
you shouldn't install php directly on windows. It's much easier to install a package with php, mysql and apache: http://www.wampserver.com/en/

You can install that on windows and it'll work almost the same as on linux (some small differences). On frihost there's no need to isntall php, it's already done for you.

If you want a nice php editor instead of notepad:
http://www.frihost.com/forums/vt-7995.html (I like notepad++)

and before you ask more questions read this: http://www.frihost.com/forums/vt-92218.html
there are some links to topics in which some basics are explained to other starters, you might find them helpful.
vasvaas
i use xampp, its also lot better that installing the stand alone version
Raidation