You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Code Cipher Combination

Please rate this thread on a scale of 01 to 10.
 100%  [ 1 ]
 0%  [ 0 ]
 0%  [ 0 ]
 0%  [ 0 ]
 0%  [ 0 ]
 0%  [ 0 ]
 0%  [ 0 ]
 0%  [ 0 ]
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 1

I have been studying cryptography and cryptanalysis for over two years at present and I have been working on the strongest cryptographic tool ever devised.

Now, the next four paragraphs are for people new to the above mentioned subjects, so if you know about it you may omit it.

Cryptography is the process of hiding information by converting it into unintelligible gibberish by means of two algorithms in which similar instances are called keys. It has two branches: Codes and Ciphers.

In a code a unit of information (e.g. word, phrase, sentence, etc.) is converted to something else. Codes are outdated because to encode some information you need a codebook, and making a codebook is very very time-consuming as there are many many words, phrases and sentences. Though Codes are very strong, making one is unpractical.

In a Cipher each alphabet used in the piece of information is converted to something else. So the 26 characters in English each have thier own respective characters. The strength of the cipher is the number of permutations in the arrangement of its characters. So in the Caesar's Shift Cipher (in which there are 26 characters arranged definite order, the number of permutations or the strength of the cipher is 26). If the 26 characters were to be arranged in any order then the strength would be 26 into 26 or 676.