FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Help with php email

hisdivinedesign
I'm a total novice with very minor knowledge of php's most basic functions. I'm doing a website for a friend and I want their forms to be secure and look nice. I'm used to using the general form that sends info to a sep. php file and then sends you to a separate thank you page. I'm trying to do better.

I took a look at Star Wars Fanatic's web site (http://www.knrdesigns.com/contact.php) since he was on some of the posts I was reading, and I would love to be able to do a contact form the way his is set up in that if you miss inputting something it just posts a message above the form stating you made an error but keeps everything else the same.

I've read the basic tutorials and spent hours on screencasts but they all only seem to give me the most basic information that I already have.

I've already got the .php page set up with the form and it works for simple mail functionality but the echo message I have for errors takes them to a blank page with the text. I just need to know how to make it give an error message and keep the same page showing as well as making it secure.

I'm assuming the same function that allows what i'm looking for in a contact form would be the one used in uploads and other types of forms as well.

Can anyone help me?
rvec
Put all the stuff in one page. It makes it a lot easier to do validation.

Code:
<?php
$submitted = FALSE;
$errors = array();

if (isset($_GET['form'])) {
  //validate your form here and put errors in $errors like this:
  $errors[] = 'Your name isn\'t valid';

if (!count($errors)) {
    //submit the form here or send the mail
  }
}

if (!$submitted) {
  if (count($errors)) {
    foreach ($errors as $error) {
      echo 'Error:'. $error .'<br />';
    }
  }
 echo <<<TEXT
<form action="?form=true" method="post">
<input....>
</form>
TEXT;
}
Marcuzzo
something like this?

Code:
<?php