FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Software Design

Denvis
Okay, so i'm studying SD at school and I think it's so boring/hard/lame. I've just finished PHP coding and Binary,hex,oct and i'm prac falling asleep when the teacher explains it. Although it's not in detail and i still thought it's boring and very repetative.

A couple days ago I considered taking up this course and doing another course at uni/Tafe (Australia) but the subject currently is turning me off, I hate it! Is anybody doing some sort of computing job or studying anything to do with computers currently? If so can you tell me what it's like outside of high school.
harismushtaq
In the industry, all what you study in SD has plenty of applications but you should enjoy it in order to be successful in building a carear into it. PHP and bin/oct/hex conversion is just a beggining, there will be other things that will appear very boring initially but will turn challenging as you go further into it. You should have very good mathematics in order to excel in this field.
AftershockVibe
If you find a good computer science or software engineering degree you'll find that what you are taught is far removed from what you're taught at the moment. My degree (not australian) is highly mathematical based.

Also, theygo so far as to not actually "teach" languages specifically. Although they do provide crash courses, for example in C, they tend to go hand in hand with modules on (for example) functional programming, object-oriented design or logic programming. They figure that if you're bright enough to be there and know the principle then you can pick up the languages you need yourself.

A lot of the really cool stuff you need a lot of background to understand. Genetic Algorithms (evolving programs) and Cryptography (security and how to break it) to name but two areas.
Hogwarts
Denvis wrote: